the fall is coming down

I don’t think I want to think about it / How the fall is coming down / The light is leaving and it’s hard to breathe / Buried in a pile of leaves

This matt pond PA song has been stuck in my head for weeks. Because I really hate the cold. And what with the return of runny noses, 31-degree overnight temperatures, and blanket number four on my bed, I’ve been a bit of a miserable monster lately. That’s why I’m grateful for days like today, which will live on as an oasis in my mind come the dreary days of winter (which I’ve been guilty of mistakenly calling our current season multiple times).

sundae!

chocolate sundae herself.

Though I complain about my crazy dog from time to time — seriously, this 170 lb. beast is a handful — I really do enjoy our midday walks, especially when the weather is as gorgeous as today’s. As Sundae stuck her nose in the air and tried to sniff out the mysterious scents wafting on the breeze, I turned up the volume on the ol’ Zune and couldn’t help but smile at what came up next.

I first heard Colbie Caillat’s “Magic” a little over two years ago while zooming around in my friend Katie’s car, and as I gazed at the brilliant, jewel-toned leaves surrounding me today, I was brought back to that carefree time. As I mentioned last week, certain songs seem to have more meaning now than they did before, and this is absolutely one of them. The lyrics are pretty self-explanatory, which I’ll leave you to find for yourself lest this quickly become yet another sap-fest.

Suffice it to say, the bright blue sky, sun-dappled surroundings, great music, and goofy dog by my side made it a pretty decent afternoon. Even if it is “winter.”

One response to “the fall is coming down

  1. Pingback: you make my dreams « CATCH THE SPARKS

Leave a Reply

